Return of the Tofu Press

7 Jul

I can’t believe it’s already Friday tomorrow! I’m pretty sure I could handle a 3 day work week every week.

Today’s breakfast was an exact replica of yesterday’s. Only no Christmas mug this time. At lunchtime I grabbed my sneakers and Maddux grabbed his leash (yeah….not really) and we ran to a nearby dog park. He’s still a puppy (7 months), so we are easing him into running by taking him on short runs and getting him used to running by our side.

I made myself lunch when we got back. Also very similar to yesterday’s.

Only I skipped the veggie burger this time and added nutritional yeast. A sliced apple on the side, no surprise there.

After work I went to the gym for an hour long Muscle Max class. I increased my weights last week and stuck with that, so it was pretty tough. I was really feeling it in my shoulders and my biceps. I also happened to notice, while standing there pumping iron, that it looks like I have the chicken pox. I am still covered in red welts from all the mosquito bites I got camping last weekend. Sweet.

Ryan had class tonight, so that means I did what for dinner?

A.) Picked up food from Whole Foods

B.) Made something with tofu

C.) Made something with kale

Answer: B and C

I’ve made this dinner several times for myself and love it every time.

I started with a block of tofu that I had put in my handy dandy tofu press before going to the gym. If you cook with tofu, think about getting a tofu press. They make your life easier and your tofu firmer ;)

I cubed the tofu, marinated it in a mixture of these ingredients,

and then baked it for about 15 minutes at 350°. Use a cookie sheet covered in tin foil and sprayed with cooking spray. No mess.

While that was in the oven, I sauteed kale and onions in a little bit of water and a cube of vegetable bouillon until softened.

At the same time, I cooked up some rice noodles. They only take about 3 minutes to cook, super fast.

When everything was cooked, I added them all to a bowl.

You can add a little more of the tofu marinade if you want extra sauce.

Delicious. There are some leftovers, but they will be lucky to see tomorrow.

 

2 Responses to “Return of the Tofu Press”

  1. Cait's Plate July 8, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    I love tofu but I have yet to use a tofu press. The tofu press I have is a couple of paper towels and my hands! Haha. I really need to get one because it would be so much easier! That whole dish looks delish.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 9, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    I’m sort of on the fence with tofu. Don’t love it enough to make it on my own, but I’ll take a little if it’s being served on the food bar at Whole Foods… :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

