I Broke the Cardinal Rule of Grocery Shopping

14 Jun

I went grocery shopping on an empty stomach. Even worse, I went to TRADER JOE’S on an empty stomach. What was I thinking?!

Forty-five minutes later and $75 poorer I made it out. I was just going to pick up a few things, I swear! At least I stuck to purchasing healthy foods, like fruit…

Hey, a chocolate covered banana is still a banana 😉

I did buy non-chocolate covered fruit as well.

Mango and pineapple, my summer loves! Trader Joe’s has the BEST frozen fruit!

While I put the groceries away I snacked on some Trader Joe’s Horseradish Hummus. YUM! I don’t even think I like horseradish very much, but I definitely liked this hummus. The horseradish gives it a little kick, yet isn’t overpowering.

After snacking, I wasn’t hungry for a big meal, but still wanted something. Since I had just bought tomatoes, mushrooms, basil, and a demi-baguette, I knew exactly what I wanted to make – bruschetta! I topped baguette slices with sauteed mushrooms and tomatoes, fresh basil, and a balsamic reduction.

Mmmm, I could eat that combo every night.

One Response to “I Broke the Cardinal Rule of Grocery Shopping”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bottomless Pit « - June 29, 2011

    […] Then I ate a couple of chocolate covered frozen banana bites. […]

Leave a Reply

