Weekend Whirlwind

26 Jun

I haven’t been on a computer all weekend and it’s been marvelous! I work in IT and spend my entire workday glued to (multiple) computer screens, so it’s nice to unplug on the weekends. Though I didn’t touch a computer, I did do a thousand and one other things this weekend.

– Took Maddux to the dog park (3 times).

Ryan loves the little ice cream carts at the park.

– Went to Jamba Juice. It was Pride Weekend here in Chicago and Jamba Juice was showing their pride!

I got a Tropical Mango smoothie. I had them swap out the sherbet for fresh mango.

It was quite refreshing. The building we live in was also showing it’s pride.

I love living in such a diverse and accepting city.

– Went to Bleeding Heart Bakery.

I picked up a Take a Hike Scone and a Cranberry Oatmeal cookie. Both are vegan and nut free. The scone is massive and is packed with dried fruit, pepitos, and flaxseed.

– Went to  Costello’s. I had the Veggie Grinder minus the provolone. “a whole wheat sub roll with hummus and provolone, oven baked then dressed with lettuce, tomato, onion, pepper rings and classic vinaigrette.”

Ryan and I are both big fans of Costello’s and go there often. They have an extensive menu and will customize anything.

– Went to the pool

– Went to a BBQ

– Went shopping for costumes for our camping trip next weekend (more on that later!)

– Went to a family party out in the burbs

– Sat out in the yard and caught up on reading

Thanks to a certain puppy that doesn’t like to sleep in, the latest I slept in this weekend was 6:30am. I am wiped. Dare I say I am ready for the work week to start??

 

 

4 Responses to “Weekend Whirlwind”

  1. Brandi June 27, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Love that you are team kindle! I have one too and I take that thing everywhere just in case I can sneak in a little reading.
    I understand what you mean about staring at computers all day. I manage finances for a contracting company so I’m constantly staring at the screen for hours everyday! It makes it hard to get on the computer at home!

    Your weekend seems like it was awesome and relaxing! Chicago looks like a pretty awesome place. I’m dying to visit (only in the warmer months, I’m a wimp when it comes to cold).

    • Cait June 27, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      I LOVE my Kindle!! I also can’t speak highly enough about the Amazon customer service. Two weeks ago I threw my Kindle in my bag without the cover (duh!) and the screen ended up cracked. Called Amazon and they shipped me a new one within days – no questions asked (mine was still under warranty). So I am totally Team Kindle!

      You should definitely visit Chicago, it’s an amazing city. Summertime is for sure the time to come!

  2. Sweet Cheeks June 27, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    sounds like a nice Sunday! I have been reading a lot on my Kindle, too. I love that thing!!

    • Cait June 27, 2011 at 10:35 am #

      It was a nice Sunday. Nothing better than starting out the day with some leisurely reading in the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

